SAU Community

Ebay Plenum For Rb26

Rbdirty30

So I've noticed on eBay there's a few greddy 6 throttle body's intake plenum replicas on ebay, now the greddy is around the $1100 mark and the eBay jobs are around $300 to $500 but still boast of decent power gains. Has anyone brought a eBay special and noticed the gains with there rb26? Or had any troubles with them?Or is it best to stay with the original intake?

Who's to say the Ebay one won't also?

Have you checked this theory by measuring the egt's in each runner, or are you just happy to quote old wives tales? Gibson didn't have any trouble with it afaik...

I'm just asking questions to find out if it's worth while or not. I'm no mechanic and trying to find these things out on google is hard if not to no answer at all. That's why I've tyres to the forum to hopefully find someone that has done this and that may help me out

People do all kinds of stupid things, that doesn't mean you should copy them... :P

I have seen 500kw through a factory setup, intercooler, plenum, manifolds, piping, airbox, fuel lines etc. If you are near that I would be more worried about the block splitting than the runner flow. Just run a fat mixture and cram some more boost in.

Just to help the OP, ive got a genuine Greddy and had a ebay/china copy side by side.

You had to look really hard to spot the differences, runners, diameters, everything identical, slight differences in casting lines...very slight.

Would come down to the quality of the alloy IMHO.

Ive met and spoken with a Chinese manufacturer that makes them, as he said to me with any part, supply me with the brand name original and ill copy it for a fraction of the price and you wont tell the difference.

And just to throw a spanner into the works, he was offering them to me for $US 80 dollars each 2-3 years ago, no wonder there are so many copies out there......

Would come down to the quality of the alloy IMHO.