SAU Community

Oil Analysis - Who Can Read The Results

Duncan

I took the race car back to the workshop because the turbos were blown - noisey whistle as they spooled up.

Turbos showed evidence of oil starvation so I got an oil analysis done. results below.

This is on a 7 day old production race motor.

oil1.jpg

oil2.jpg

oil3.jpg

The main thing I understand is the smiley face.

Also interested to hear from anyone who does regular oil analysis as part of a preventative schedule

• Replies 62
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

It does have a sad smiley. And I think 94x the acceptable level of bearing material might be a sign too.

No I have never used the redline oil before. Interesting that their analysis shows it is outside the expected range for 15w50 at 100oC. Whatever the expected range is at 100oC

I wonder why there is a shit load of lead in the oil?

Unless you are doing the sneaky sneaky and running Sunoco MaxNos lol

Is this the same block you have always been using? or is it a different block to the others you have killed?

Shit, that's not a bad price for the oil analysis, I would have thought it would be more. I wouldn't mind doing one with the new Dimple sump plug.

Also, where can I get my hands on your engine: RB2BPETT lol

lol at strange engine number. not sure what the P stands for either.

I assume copper and lead make up tri metal ACL bearings. that is why i was wondering who knows how to read/explain these things.

The block is a virgin in my use, although it was second hand and machined including 0.5mm overbore before this use.

not good duncan. I'll point Dan to this thread as he does all of my oil analysis and has had some in depth discussions with the oil test guys, but i think you have already in the nail on the head with the copper/lead being the different layers of the bearings.