SAU Community

Rb26dett Recommended Oil For Track Use

Big Laugh

Hi there all,

short intro!

I am new to SAU & new to forums!

Have recently purchased an R32 GTR. I think it is a barrel of laugh's (hense my user name). The vehicle is stock standard no boost controller only nice exhaust system.

Just wanted to know what engine oil would be recommended for a gtr r32 rb26dett in track use?

Do you think it would be safe to use standard sump and oil pump for super sprint and hill climb use?

The Big Laugh !

G'day Jay...

Best oil for track use IMO and most of the guys who track their R's here in Vic use Castrol Edge 10w60.

Secondly, for limited track use and the type of events you have indicated the std sump and oil pump will be fine - just keep in mind that oil pumps or the oil pump drive in the 32's are known to be weak points due to age and design. I would consider a new one with upgraded pump drive collar just for piece of mind. What I would highly recommend is a decent oil cooler with ducting etc.

Motul Chrono V Competition 15w50, best there is but not cheap.

Standard sump and oil pump are fine if they are in good condition, Overfill it a bit just in case though when u take it to the track.

If you think your stuff is in good condition then happy racing :happy:

I used Castrol Edge 10w60 for a while but have swapped to Penrite Sin 10w70 and haven't had any issues. You will probably get 10 different answers to your question as everyone has a different opinion etc...

Thanks Guys,

Thanks for the tips. I hope that I can be of some assistance some day.